Recurring Journal Entries

Hi , I have seen someone has asked this question before.
So is it on the road map to have this function implemented?
Thanks.

if the question had been asked before and was considered for implementation finding the necessity to have the same, you would find it categorized in the ideas section. if not, then there was no strong reason and was not considered to be implemented.

In Manager there is hardly any use for journal entries.
what is your use case for recurring journal entries?

Obviously you are not an accountant.

1 Like

There is no need to be rude to another user who just asked a simple question "what is your use case ā€¦ "

ā€œObviouslyā€ you canā€™t provide a simple explanation. I am an accountant - so ā€œwhat is your use caseā€ ?

In Manager, you can use ā€œcloningā€ as a method for creating recurring Journals.

2 Likes

Recurring journal entries are found in every accounting/bookkeeping system I have ever used. As an accountant, we use journal entries for many different things, such as:

Allowance for doubtful accounts
Recurring accruals
Recurring prepaid expenses
Overhead allocation

Itā€™s a staple of an accounting system. These types of journal entries are the same every month and the beauty of one is that you donā€™t have to remember to enter or clone it every month.

I agree with Pete. Why isnā€™t this feature available? For that matter, why isnā€™t Recurring Payables a feature as well? And yes, I can clone something, but that necessitates having to remember to clone something every month.

Was suggesting built in calendar for reminder in case we forgot.

1 Like

Hi Queenbean84

Can I ask a question?
As this feature is not available atthe moment, what are the steps involved in cloning a journal entry?
Thanks.

1. Open the Journal Entry
  2. Click the Clone button at the top
1 Like

Iā€™m using Version 17.12.6 (Desktop).
When I open a new journal entry I donā€™t see a ā€œcloneā€ button.
What am I doing wrong?
Thanks