Desktop edition to server edition

I am currently using desktop edition and wanted to try the sevrer edition free trial before i proceed to purchase the server edition.
Can I transfer the whole business file usong the back up file from desktop to server edition?

Yes
It works as normal, backup the desktop versions and restore it to the server version see Backup, restore and transfer businesses
The only difference is when your free trial expires you will no longer have access to hosted (cloud) data, so back up the cloud data file to a local location, prior to your trial expiring.

Thank for the info.

We actually allow to download backups from cloud edition even if free trial expires or subscription is cancelled. We are not holding anyone’s data hostage.

See https://cloud.manager.io/customer-service (there is Download Backup button)

2 Likes

This should really be on the front page of manager.io. :+1:

1 Like

I agree it is an important pervasive philosophy of Manager. It is actually already prominently displayed on the cloud page and cloud price page. There has been some confusion about what happens at the end of a trial period, or perhaps Manger has recently been enhanced.

I suspect the cloud version deserves it’s own guide, which would fit nicely in the “First steps” -> “Software version” section of the guide. There are a few functions specific to the cloud versions such as:

  • Extra back up options
  • URL setup
  • Subscription renewal (before expiry, after expiry vs starting a subscription)
  • Administrator password reset
  • Other white label features such as extra URL, help link

Particularly given even with a reasonable forum search this information has not been that obvious eg:


or

And for large data files

are you asking about the server edition or cloud edition? they are both different.
all the answers given were related to cloud edition which is hosted on Manager servers whereas a server edition is self hosted.
to answer your initial question, yes you can switch between any edition of Manager without losing your business data.

A post was split to a new topic: Accessing account after changing billing details