Option to Lock the Reference field

I request that Manager be given the option to completely lock the referencing field.

When the lock is turned on, users (restricted or unrestricted) shouldn’t be able to uncheck the button below when entering or editing transactions, the field should be greyed out.

1

To change a reference number is to delete an old transaction and generate a new one. Reference numbers when generated should be etched in stone and should not be in the control of users not even users with full access just like how no one has control over the time in timestamps.

A button to set the Reference Field as Locked or Unlocked can be added to settings.

When set to Locked: The Referencing system is locked to automatically generate reference numbers based on a predefined numbering system and users should not be able to enter text in the reference field or make changes to already generated reference numbers even if they have the permission to update transactions.

When set to Unlocked: As it works now.

Why is this feature necessary?

History would be more reliable as ALL transactions captured would initially be assigned with reference numbers making tracking of changes made to a particular transaction much easier. Currently, transactions can be entered without references and transaction references can be edited by users who have permission to edit.

Reference numbers are identifiers and once generated may have been used for tax returns, claims or used as a proof of a receivable by entities who are parties to the financial transaction. If you change a reference number, you have in effect deleted a transaction. I believe a reversal entry is more appropriate in accounting when there is a need to correct an earlier mistake.

Avoid duplicate reference numbers. With a system like that, duplicate reference numbers will never happen.

1 Like