Will Manager meet my simple accounting needs?

I have been using Quickbooks for over 20 years. I am ready for a change. I only have very simple requirements. The only module that I use is GL. Here are the functions that I use:

General journal entries
Import bank statements
Import credit card statements for purchases
Import credit card merchant transaction for sales
Basic accounting reports
Export data to send to accountant

It should be noted that the credit cards and merchant transactions are effectively equivalent to bank statements if they can be mapped properly.

I reviewed the Manager website and did not seem much regarding the importing

I’m not a very advanced Manager user but I believe all the features you listed are present within Manager. I’ll tackle each of your items. No guarantees, no warranties. :slight_smile:

• General journal entries
  • Import bank statements
    • Yes this is a feature. I think I tried it once and my financial institution didn’t output their CSV data in quite a nice enough format for Manager. I prefer to make manual transactions so the lesson here is YMMV.
  • Import credit card statements
    • In manager, credit cards are treated the same as any other bank account except you expect them to have a negative balance. This is documented lots on the forums and I think in the manual. To this end, it’s the same as the previous section on importing bank receipts.
    • I will also link below the instructions for importing a bank reconciliation which is often handy for performing a balance check.
  • Import credit card merchant transactions
    • Someone else can correct me here but I think you’d once again use the import bank statements feature. Ultimately a statement of receipts (revenues) is no different from a statement of payments (expenses).
    • There’s also the batch create feature.
  • Basic accounting reports
  • Export data to send to accountant