Where does the Built-In Rounding Account come from?

I am setting up another bookkeeping system. I discovered an account called “Rounding Account” in the setup chart of accounts.

I clicked on Edit.

I don’t see any Rounding Account in other bookkeeping systems I set up.Where does the built-in Rounding Account come from?

It’s new and appears with the first sales invoice. You cannot get rid of it. See my discussion with @lubos here: Rounding expense account always visible

Rounding expense account is put into Chart of Accounts automatically to accomodate for rounding discrepancies which can happen when multi-line invoices are paid partially on cash-basis.

I know it’s a bit ugly and I will find more elegant solution in the future.

I am having difficulty understanding the problem, probably because I am not a professional accountant. I would think:

The customer receives goods, accrual basis:
Dr Accounts Receivable
Cr Sales

In cash basis accounting, we cannot credit sales when the customer receives goods. We still have to credit something, though. Could we credit a contra asset account called Uncollected something?

The customer receives goods, cash basis:
Dr Accounts Receivable
Cr Uncollected

Then, when the customer pays part or all, we can now transfer the amount from Uncollected to Sales. And then, we need to reduce Accounts Receivable by the amount of the payment. So, we would have:

Customer pays, cash basis:
Dr Uncollected
Cr Sales

Dr Bank Account
Cr Accounts Receivable

I don’t understand why we have to apply a payment to individual line items. Is it a GAAP rule? If a business wanted to track how much the customer still owes on two different things, maybe the business could issue separate invoices on each item?

Is there something I can read that might help me understand why we have to apply a payment to each item on an invoice?