Old closed invoices are showing up with amounts due or overpaid

I have been using the desktop version for several years now (thank you by the way!) and I am using the currently available version. Today, my sales invoices are bringing up sales invoices (same customer) from over a year ago showing either amounts due or overpaid. Anyone help? Thanks.

This is related to the change announced in this release note: [17.9.28] Improvements to automatic credit allocations. The invoices showing amounts due are because prior invoices became overpaid. But make sure you are absolutely up to date, because further improvements were made to accommodate the transition after v17.9.28 was released. Others have reported that similar problems disappeared with later updates. (Manager advances very rapidly.)

Thanks TUT didn’t find this on my initial search. I’ll need to read through it a bit. Again, thank you!

This just happened to me with an invoice and payment dating back to 2014. The transactions appear to have become unlinked, so that the invoice now says $48.05 still owing (1330 days overdue!) and the payment status is ‘overpaid’, with a balance due of -$48.05. Not sure if I should wait for another update to fix it, or if I should try and reconcile them manually?

You should look at the receipt(s) involved for that invoice. Manager believes you have allocated 48.05 too much for that specific invoice. Drill down on the invoice in the Sales Invoices tab. There is also a possibility that you had a prior receipt from that customer that you did not assign to an invoice and which, therefore, was automatically assigned to the one you are questioning. So to fix the one that appears overpaid, you might have to fix a different one. Read the Guide about this: Manager Cloud.