Nice to have: Note field for each account

I’m new to Manager Accounting. So, maybe you already have this and I just need to be told how to access. Or maybe there is already a good alternative to accomplish the same thing. I’m listening.

Here is what I seek:

There would be a note field for every account that you can see from “Settings >> Chart of Accounts”. From the list of accounts you would be able to see beside each account just the first line of the account’s note field, if there is a note for an account. If there is no note for a particular account OR if the first line of the note is blank, then no note would appear for the account.

If you click the Edit button beside an account, you would see the account’s Name, Code, Group, Control Account or Starting Amount, just like it is now. But in addition, you would see a note field. From this view, you could see all of the note, not just the first line. If you want the notes but don’t want them to show on the Chart of Accounts page, then you would put a carriage return (newline) on the first line of the note, and type all your notes on succeeding lines.

What would I use it for? I would use the account note field to record any information about the account that I want to remember. I might type bank account numbers. I might type any policies I have regarding the account. For example, maybe a certain expense must only be paid from a particular bank account or from a particular credit card for whatever reason.

I think the note field would not change any reports. If I want some additional information to appear on a report, I can include that information in the account’s name. So, having a note field would not change other parts of Manager Accounting.

Like I said at the beginning, I just started using Manager Accounting. I’ve only used it a week. So, I am certainly listening if anybody wants to tell me a convenient way to keep notes on the accounts.