Do I have to use Bank Accounts?

I’m a small business owner with several different bank and PayPal accounts in different currencies. The bank accounts would cost too much to set up as separate business accounts so I use my personal bank accounts for business. Most of the transactions are private, however I do not wish to have to record each and every one of my private, personal transaction as Drawings. Is there any way I can keep my accounts WITHOUT using the Bank Accounts section in Manager.io? Thanks

In your case, you shouldn’t be using Bank Accounts tab at all.

First, you should create yourself under Capital Accounts tab.

Then when spending money on behalf of the business, record the expense under Expense Claims tab. As a payer, you will be selecting your name (which is taken from Capital Accounts)

Capital Accounts is basically used to track how much the business owes to you as you keep spending on behalf of the business.

As for receiving money on behalf of the business, well, there is no module for that. I’d add such a module, just don’t know what to call it. In the meantime, you could create dummy cash account under Cash Accounts tab which can be used to receive money. Just make sure to regularly spend all the money in cash account and categorize spend money transaction under Capital AccountsYour nameDrawings. This way cash account won’t be increasing in balance indefinitely. What you are basically doing is pretending that any money received is received by the business first but then immediately withdrawn from business to pay you.

Perfect, thanks! From 1st Jan until 31st July I’ve been recording business transactions in the Bank Accounts tab. Is there a way I can quickly get rid of these / reverse everything in the Bank Accounts so that I can re-do everything from the Cash Accounts instead? Thanks for your help.