Clearing Pending Transactions

UPDATE -

I found the ‘Cleared Date’ box and it seems to only be available for bank accounts. Is that correct? Please disregard the rest of this post. thank you

I am a new user of Manager.io and am considering migrating from QuickBooks Desktop. My use is only for my purely personal financial records and I have downloaded and am using the free 1 user desktop version. I have been using Manager for about a month and have 2022 up to date and have everything in balance. I have a question:

I upload bank and credit card transactions into Manager. Especially with my bank checking transactions, I will enter the transaction when it is made in order to maintain a current cash balance. Invariably, the transaction will clear the bank account a few days later. I have read the Guide on Tracking Pending and Clearing Transactions and neither my Payment or Receipts screen has the option for entering “Cleared Date”. All of my imported transactions appear as ‘Cleared’ and not “Pending’. This truly complicates reconciling balances as Manager thinks all transactions are cleared. Is there a setting I am missing?

Thanks for your help.

You are correct. Clearance dates apply only to bank accounts. Cash and bank accounts used to be treated differently in Manager, but now, the only difference is whether or not they can be cleared.

As for your comments about importing transactions, you should not use bank statement imports if you are going to enter transactions manually. You will end up with duplicate transactions.