Adding inventory items on the fly

It would be nice if there was a way to enter inventory items ‘on the fly’?
e.g. If I’m entering a purchase invoice and ½ way through there is an item that isn’t in the system, I would like to be able to enter it from that point rather than have to save the invoice, go to another area to enter the new item and then return and edit the invoice.

possible only in the server and cloud editions at present where you can open a separate tab and get it done.

2 Likes

Can this be added to the desktop version in the future?

I think not as the desktop edition has only a single screen / user functionality.
You can always upgrade to the cloud edition if its an essential requirement.

I never said it was an essential requirement, I said “It would be nice if there was a way”.
I was advised by Lubos that I could post “Feature requests” on the forum and that is what I did.

Whilst I’m not even close to being a programmer, I have used other accounting software that has had this feature, which I found very handy and is therefore why I asked.

It looks like I may have misunderstood what the forum is for, please remove my post if it’s not suited to the forum and I will refrain from requesting features unless they are “Essential”.

Firstly I said - “if” its an essential requirement.

Yes, the forum is the place to post “Feature Request” amongst other things.
However, if you search the forum you will notice that your request for adding items on the fly (which includes besides Inventory Items, Customers, Suppliers etc) has been made a multiple number of times over the years with reference to the desktop edition and it has always been responded with - it will only be available in the cloud & server editions.

If you really really want this feature then you can run Manager as a local server in a browser. In your Manager installation folder you will find a file ManagerServer.exe

Run it and in your browser enter http://127.0.0.1:8080

4 Likes

Brucanna,