Suspense Account Junk

Why is all this stuff ending up in suspense?

I am new at this, but the when fund are left in suspense it is because the assets and liabilities are not in balance. The difference is therefore placed in suspense.

There is always a reason why some transactions would be posted to suspense. Here a few:

• Incorrect journal entries where debits don’t equal credits (the difference goes to Suspense)
  • Incorrect opening balances where debits don’t equal credits (the difference goes to Suspense)
  • Uncategorized transactions where account is not selected on line item (the line item amount goes to Suspense)

etc.

From accounting point of view, it’s important these amounts go to Suspense to make sure your accounting system doesn’t break double-entry accounting principle where assets - liabilities = equity even if you do something wrong.

1 Like

Thanks Guys, I am an Idiot! I have worked out what I was doing wrong.

Just to make some things clear. I’ve raised a Debit Note from my supplier credit note for $1000 (no stock was returned), and ended up with $-1000 Accounts Payable in Liabilities Section and $1000 Suspense in Equity. Should I just leave it as it is till my next purchase from that supplier? Is it correct? Thanks!

No, you should not leave it. Suspense is where Manager parks mistakes until you fix them. In this case, you did not choose an account to allocate the debit note to. Read these Guides:
https://www.manager.io/guides/7426
https://www.manager.io/guides/7106

The two legs of the double-entry accounting for a debit note are:

• Debit Accounts payable and the supplier’s subaccount
  • Credit the expense account to which the original purchase was debited.

In Manager, the debit to Accounts payable is accomplished by selecting the Supplier from the dropdown list. The credit to the expense account is accomplished by selecting it in the field named Account for the line item being adjusted.