Invoices tied to Open Orders and open order printing

Hi,

I have been using this software for 2 years now and it has by far been the best accounting software I have found. Recently my business is changing to more of a manufacturing then service oriented. The issue I have now is I receive PO’s for a months worth of production at one time and bill against the order biweekly. Is there any way when you create a invoice off of an order that it can change the order to show what quantities are owed still. Without this I can not track what I still owe the customer.

Also is there a way to print out a open orders for all orders showing a balance of what is owed and a required delivery date (of coarse the previous issue would have to be addressed to have a correct open orders sheet)?

Thank you
Ryan

Also is there any way of showing the NAME instead of the CODE on orders, invoices and delivery notes?

Thank you
Ryan

No. Sales orders (which you would enter when receiving a purchase order from a customer), are not linked to any other transaction and have no financial impact. They are really just a shortcut for entry of data, allowing copying to sales invoices, delivery notes, and so forth. You could, however, create custom fields on sales orders in which you would enter status, setting them up to show as columns so you could scan the Sales Orders tab to see which sales orders are not yet fulfilled.

No. Sales orders are not really “open” or “closed” in that sense. As noted above, they are just a way to save information.

No. The Name field is only used internally for some reports. That variable is not passed to any of the transactions you mentioned, so it cannot be shown, even with a custom theme. Codes can be suppressed with a custom theme, but anything else you want to appear on completed transactions has to go into the Description field.