Incoming invoices and receipts

Hi,

I am a sole trader and am trying to use Manager for bookkeeping. I think my financial administration is very simple:

I have…

• the free stand-alone version of Manager, locally installed.
  • three price ranges for my projects (three Non-inventory Items).
  • my monthly costs like internet/insurance/hosting etc.
  • costs per project like hotel/food/rental car etc.

The monthly costs are paid by direct debit from my business account. Most of the costs per project are paid for with my personal Credit Card (for frequent flyer miles).

My questions:

• How do I process the monthly costs (invoices) and costs per project (mostly simple check register receipts) without creating purchase orders, suppliers or expense claims etc? It seems a bit overkill for what I need.
  • If it is better to use expense claims for the costs I make per project how do I process them correctly?
  • I’ve tried using an expense claim. But I am not sure how process the payment/transfer to my personal account of the expense claim. If there is an incoming payment for an invoice I’ve created, you can select the invoice the payment was for. I tried using “Payments” for the transfer, but I was expecting a similar selection for the expense claim as you have for the invoice. So I was not sure if it was the right way to do it.

I am not familiar with all the terminology, English is not my native language. But I’ll try my best to understand your answers. :slight_smile:

Thank you for any help.

1 Like

As a new forum member and Manager user, please start by reading the previous guides and the new guides as nearly every question is answered in there. Also search the guides before posting new questions.

Also read the Forum’s FAQ/Rules.

Hi @Mark,

Thank you for your support. I have read some pages of the old and new guide. I get the gist of it, but if bookkeeping is not your core business the terminology can get quite difficult/abstract even in your own language.