Freight-in going directly to Cost of Goods Sold

What is causing the extra lines with a date but no data. I tried deleting them but I can’t. They seem to be tied to the payment with the same date.

Here is a screenshot from the balance sheet report.

I am new to inventory.

The payments are “in- freight” charges as described in the guides. Some of them have both a credit and a debit but not all of them, and as far as I know those payments were created the same as the others.

It is generally impossible to troubleshoot by looking at transaction lists like these. You need to look at Edit screens for the transactions involved. Often, it is necessary to know which tabs are enabled, especially for inventory management. And it is sometimes necessary to see the chart of accounts.

You may have a situation where an inventory item was backordered. Manager will not count items as being delivered that you do not own. So there can be automatic entries when additional stock is acquired.

The only way to know what happened is to go back in your records to a well-understood situation and follow the transactions forward, one by one. Be sure you have read the three-part Guide on inventory management, starting here: Manage inventory - Part 1 Introduction | Manager.

I changed the date of the Purchase invoice of the actual items, to before any other transaction That fixed the problem. I think what was happening was that I was putting an expense on an item that was not there. the extra line was an immediate credit because there was no item.

You don’t have to change dates, and you should not. What your experience shows is that the program handles back orders correctly.

It will all come out in the wash in the long run. but is does change the numbers. any expense incurred before the purchase of the item will not be included in the average cost of the item. it will be an immediate expense.

I changed the date back again to show this.