Foreign Exchange Imports (will this function be available)?

I was just wondering whether a “batch update” of Exchange Rates will be available? Although I am not a developer, I imagine that it wouldn’t be that difficult to allow exchange rates to be uploaded (via .csv). From memory, I though that this used to be possible in Manager, but it isn’t there now. For accurate reporting, I would need daily exchnage rates for multiple currencies, going back for about a year and a half. To enter these individually (over 1,500 entries) would be a massive task. Would a developer @lubos be able to comment. Excellent software, by the way.

I’m actually rethinking overall approach to multi-currency.

Rather than having list of historical exchange rates under Settings tab, perhaps Manager should just have exchange rate field on each transaction where applicable.

@lubos But wouldn’t exchange rates STILL need to be added somewhere on a “regular basis”, otherwise how could the exchange rate gains/losses be shown for the relavnt reporting period? Say that only a few foreign transactions were added each year … if those transactions ONLY had an exchange rate, then all subsequent reports would use THAT rate to work out period-end balances and gains/losses. Systems with which I am familiar ALWAYS allow for a regular (say, daily; weekly; monthly) exchange rate to be input via a “table” … and optionally allow a “specific” (viz. over-ride) exchange rate at the transaction level.

Aren’t exchange rates used for the transaction, not the reporting date.

If a transaction occurs in July at a rate of 1.12, then that’s the applicable gain/loss rate.
If at the reporting date, say Sep 30, the rate is now 1.14, you don’t change the gain/loss to suit.

The exception is where valuations rather then transactions occur - consolidations etc.