Best practice for Amazon store

I have no accounting background. We sell both retail and wholesale books as a self-publisher. Our retail sales are mostly through online book sales through our website and Amazon. My question deals only with the Amazon sales.

Amazon transfers the money for the sale plus a 3.99 or 6.99 shipping fee minus their fees to our bank account periodically.

How should I record the sales and money transfers? Sometimes the actual shipping is more or less than the amount Amazon adds to the order.

I assume you are referring to a bulk payment for a span of time, and that you are treating Amazon as your customer, not the individual end consumers. I also assume you are paying your shipper directly, not through Amazon. In that case, you can receive money directly as a bank transaction or create a sales invoice based on a summary of books transacted through Amazon and then receive money against the sales invoice.

Either way, the amount for the books’ sale price is posted to an income account. This will happen automatically if you treat the books as inventory items. Shipping reimbursements (the 3.99 or 6.99 each) are entered separately, posted to an income account like Shipping cost reimbursements. Amazon fees, if shown separately and not simply deducted from the book price, can be entered as negative quantities, posted to an expense account like Sales agent fees. The net of all these things should equal the receipt into your bank account.

Because you are paying your shipper separately, that must be a separate transaction, either a payment or a purchase invoice. The fact that actual prices for shipping do not exactly match the shipping reimbursements is immaterial.