Still not sure if I set up Drawings properly

Hi, I am a sole trader, I have added a Drawings account under Equity and a Contributing Funds Account under Equity also, is this right?

Your contributed funds should be in your personal capital account. But normally, a small business would set things up so retained earnings are also there. Manager handles retained earnings more like a corporation. This is not incorrect by any means, just a little different than most small business, where retained earnings is referred as owner’s equity, since as a sole trader you own it all.

Here is a recommendation to make things a lot simpler. Rename your Retained earnings account as Owner's equity. Get rid of the drawing and contributed capital accounts. The drawing account would be a temporary account anyway, transferred to owner’s equity at the end of the year. When you contribute funds, allocate them directly to owner’s equity. When you take money out, allocate the payment to owner’s equity. That way, you have fewer accounts and don’t need to make any transfers. To implement this, you will have to go back and recategorized your contributions and draws (if any so far). Once you’ve done that, you’ll be able to delete the unnecessary accounts.

As a side comment, you couldn’t do this if you were a partnership or corporation (or whatever those forms of organization might be called wherever you are). You can only do this if you are a sole trader/proprietor.

Thank you for your response but I can not find a Retained earnings account. Where do I find it, its not listed in my Chart of Accounts. I just checked and if I take out the names of the two I have added, Drawings is in the retained earnings account and funds contributed is in Capital Accounts, should this be the other way round, and if so, how do I do that now that I have allocated items to them, not a great deal! So sorry to be a pain!