Sole Trader - Draw Money for personal use from company

I am an Australian Sole Trader, I have a ABN, but am not registered for GST as I will not be earning all that much from my company - just a little bit of IT work on the side of my main job.

Anyway to get to the question, how should I go about recording into manager any money drawn out of the company bank account into my personal bank account for drawings?

If I was using MYOB I would enter the amount drawn from the company bank account as if I was writing a cheque and record the entry in MYOBs accounts list, 3-1200 drawing.

Cant seem to work this out in Manager.io.

Any tips or suggestions would be appreciated :).

1 Like

Go to Chart of Accounts under Settings tab. Create new equity account called Drawings, then use this account when categorizing payments to yourself.

It’s really the same process as in MYOB.

1 Like

I am a sole trader, so I understand all profit in the business I can take drawings from.

I wanted to keep a record of monthly drawings so enabled capital accounts, added me as a member and selected drawings from drop down, this is good as I can utilise the reports.

On the summery tab this worked nicely in the equity section with drawings in () a negative amount which is correct.

My business and tax year end on the same date 5th April. I have re-set the summery page date to reflect this.

Now being in the new business/tax year I would like to see my drawings account brought to zero so it only shows the amount drawn this year.
(I thought it would do this when I changed date on summery, I was mistaken)

I read on other topics I should re-name retained earnings to owners equity?

I would still like to see what I’m drawing each year rather than it being added on.

Can anyone suggest what I could do to make this happen.

Big thanks.