Starting balance equity

Hi,
It is my first year with Manager, although my business has been running for a couple of years.
I am having some issues with the ‘starting balance equity’ which messes up my balance.
My retained earnings equals my profit and loss for all the years that I have been in business. However the starting balance equity line is subtracted to the retained earnings. which messes up my accounts for hmrc.
My profits for the previous years were 10599 and this year is 6318, so it should equates to 16917. This is exactly my retained earnings figure, however I do not know where to position the starting balance equity.
Have you got any advise?

Not quite understanding what this means, are you able to provide a screen shot of the equity section of the Balance Sheet? Its good that your Retained Earnings totals correctly. So I am guessing that the issue relates to the entry of the Starting (Opening) Balances when you commenced with Manager.

Did you use the Capital TAB or create a Chart of Account for the Equity? Can you also provide a screen shot of the equity section of the Starting Balances Report? This information will assist in providing a clear picture.

Hi Brucana,
I think that you are right that the issue is in the Starting Balances.
Do you need more details than this?

I haven’t used the Capital TAB

OK - are you a corporation?
If you haven’t used the Capital TAB, was that Capital Accounts created directly in the Chart of Accounts?

It appears that the Starting Balances are incomplete, that Starting Balance Equity should be zero.
Note that the figure is in black - that’s Manager balancing calculation as you enter starting balances.
You need to go back to the last Balance Sheet before you started with Manager and compare that to the Starting Balance Report - It appears that an asset amount is missing, perhaps Accounts Receivable

Yes, I am a limited company in the UK.