Starting Balance Equity

Hi,
I’ve been struggling with this for a very long time and I was hoping someone might be able to explain it to me. I’ve already ready this thread and ones like it: Starting balance equity, however I don’t seem to understand what the solution is.

I have been doing my books for two years and just switched to Manager this year. I set a start date of June 1 2017 and then through the “starting balance” section entered an opening balance for my chequing account of $11,119.32 as of June 1 2017. By doing this, an entry was made to open the chequing account as of June 1, 2017, but an entry was also made under “Starting Balance Equity” for $11,119.32. This amount has not disappeared. I have finished my year now at May 31, 2018 and everything else is balanced, but the account for “starting balance equity” still has a balance of $11,119.32 (and more for other accounts that I had started). From reading the other threads, I have gathered that this means an error was made, but I don’t see how. When I started the business years ago, the starting journal entry was DR chequing CR common stock. But I’m not starting up a business at this point, so I’m not sure how to DR chequing without making another entry that would be inaccurate. What do I credit?

Maybe not so coincidentally, I’m trying to figure out how to enter a starting balance for Retained Earnings (my 2017 balance) and I can’t do it. When you bring an ongoing business into Manager, how do you enter these starting figures without making another entry that will inaccurately unbalance the rest?

I’m so very confused and any assistance would be greatly appreciated. I’ve found that my accountant is most unwilling to assist with this and wants me to go buy quickbooks.

Forget about journal entries. Just enter the starting balance as per the Guide: Manager Guides. Manager takes care of the rest.

Same Guide, same approach.