Purchase Invoice > Account > NEW

I want to create a purchase invoice for stationary ordered for one of my clients (I am a graphic designer). When I look at the drop down list of options for the ‘Account’ area, there isn’t anything along the lines of materials, or services (e.g. if I contracted a web builder to do some work for me). What do I do if none of the existing Account entries in the drop down list are relevant?

Go to Settings - Chart of Accounts and under P&L - Create New Account.
Alternatively, if an existing account is not relevant to you - Edit and rename it

When you purchase things on behalf of your customer, consider using the Billable Expenses module.

i created new account, but is still does not appear when trying to list a purchase invoice as “cost of sales”

thank you

What new account did you create ?
Cost of Sales occurs when you sell inventory items, what are you trying to post to “cost of sales” ?

i want to create a “cost of sales” category under the Expenses. Done so, but when trying to list an invoice under this “Cost of sales” category, it is nowhere to be found…i do not want to list anything as “inventory” since i do not hold any inventory

Have you have created Cost of Sales as a “Group”, is that what you mean by Category
If yes, then you can’t post to a Category, you can only post to Accounts

Can you show a screenshot of your P&L Chart of Accounts, please ?.

i managed to add a “new total”, which is even better, but still can not list any purchase invoice under the “cost of sales” :frowning:
i probably started on a wrong explanation:) i need to somehow list my purchase invoices under “cost of sales” as they are now listed as “suspended” and it all seems wrong. I do not hold inventory, therefore no inventory entries can be done either…any ideas? i thought i would be able to add a new “category=group” and get my invoices listed under it, but it does not seem to appear when choosing the group from the expended drop-down menu