Income and Provisional Tax

I see on the forum several ways of accounting for Income Tax. I would just like to clarify the best way for me from my current practice.

Each year I have to pay provisional income tax in advance based on the earnings from the previous year. Some of this is profit from the business and some from other non-business activities as I am a sole trader. Currently I have a separate bank account shown under the business into which every so often I transfer funds from the business account specifically to pay this tax. When I pay the tax I show a debit to a tax paid category on the P/L side. What I have realised is that the tax is not a business expense and should not be on the P/L side but somewhere on the left side of the chart of accounts under liabilities or equity I guess. Then I assume a journal entry should be made to separate out the non-business portion of the tax paid.

Can anyone assist and provide guidance on where the tax paid category should sit and my logic of using a journal entry or should I change this altogether?

Many thanks

For a Sole Trader These would be the entries in the Business file

Funds from business profits will be by Inter Account Transfer:

DR Business [Provisional] Bank Account
CR Business [Working] Bank Account

When you put funds from other sources into the Bus.[Prov.] Bank account it will be e Receipt transaction:

DR Business [Provisional] Bank Account
CR Capital Account (Equity)

When you pay provisional Tax it will be a Payment Transaction:

DR Capital Account (Equity)
CR Business [Provisional] Bank Account

1 Like