Funds allocation

Good day, I hope you can assist…
We are a group of 5 people and we decided to start a business. We went to open a bank account and each member paid his portion (R250) as a initial payment. Payments made is non-refundable (One can call it a “Exco member” Fee).
The account will be used to make micro transactions (IE: Office supplies, entertainment, travel expenses, etc.).
I’d like to know how and where do I allocate the funds in Manager so that I can pull a report that will balance with the bank account and also show “When”, “Why” and “How much” each member contributed.
Thank you in advance

This is the starting equity of your “company”.

Thanks for the replay.
Apologies, I’m new to Manager (and accounting as a whole) and need to know how to enter it into Manager to reflect correctly…
(1) I’ve created my “New Company” in Manager,
(2) I’ve created the bank account in Manager…
(3) I’m now stuck wondering where/how to enter these transactions :confused:

(4) Oky so I went to Capital Accounts and created each Exco member
(5) I then went to "Receipts & Payments and created a “Receipt” from that member/s
(6) There is now funds reflecting in the bank account as well as the value received in the Capital accounts. Am I on the right track?

Also, If I spend the money in the bank on Office supplies or whatever, will my Capital account stay the same or change as per my spending?

You have done things correctly, assuming your business is operating as a partnership.

Your capital accounts will remain the same unless you post transactions against them, such as when members withdraw profits from the business. You will post payments for expenses to various expense accounts.

Since you are totally new to accounting, you will probably struggle with Manager. It is difficult to use any tool until you understand what it is supposed to do. Learn about double-entry accounting at one of the many web sites available. I suggest starting here: https://www.accountingcoach.com/.