Enter Credit Charges Properly & Pay Statement Balance

A sole proprietor of a team of three, I am a newbie to both Manager and bookkeeping. I don’t see steps in the Guides that tell me in the most simple and basic way how properly to record credit card transactions so that I can understand. Would someone please clarify the procedure so that I don’t make a mess of things from the get-go?
Here’s what I’ve done so far.

1. I created a Bank Account for the credit card.
  2. Under Bank Transactions, I’m unsure whether to record the charges as “Receive” or “Spend” Money. This is where I’m stuck. I’m guessing that the credit card account will “Receive” and that I “Spend” the money from my company checking account to pay the credit card statement. But maybe I have that backwards. I know somehow the two have to cancel each other out. How do I connect the two accounts? What is the proper way to set this up so that I can reconcile my credit card statement?

Set up credit cards

Will this help?

Yes, checking account Spend ='s credit card Receive.

Two options:

1. 0%20Inter%20A-T%20tab tab if you are not importing statements
  2. 0%20Trans%20Clear account if you are importing statements

Let’s go a little further, @Inkwell. First, read the Guide @Joe91 linked to. Specifically, decide whether you want to set the credit card up as a contra asset account or liability account. The trade-offs are explained in the Guide.

Regardless of which you choose, think of the credit card as a source of money. When you buy something with a credit card, enter a Bank Transaction => Spend Money. Because you have no actual money in the credit card account, the resulting accounting credit will drive a contra asset credit card account to be negative, showing you owe money. If you have set the card up as a liability account, the same transaction will drive the account more positive. Negative assets are the same as positive liabilities. Both show you owe money.