Am I over-complicating things?!

Hi all.

I’m a sole trader in the UK in the process of setting up my COA and trying to get my head around which would be the best approach to enable me to quickly and simply undertake my own bookkeeping.

I wanted to enrol at College to study, but they asked for my full accounts in order to receive funding for the course. Needless to say, panic has set in and I’m trying to start entering the pile of receipts I have and generating a COA that would best suit a one-man joinery business (no employees, not limited, no PAYE…)

I do make things for customers, but haven’t tracked inventory. I appreciate that a granular COA would allow me to gain a better insight into the profitability of each job and analyse where I’m spending money (working on the assumption that there is profit :laughing: :). I don’t yet make goods that I could take to market, per se, but plan on coming up with some products in the future.

Pretty much all work undertaken so far, including situations where I have used private funds to buy materials and these have been reimbursed at cost (family as customers), have not been for profit, and except for a few lengths of wood and lengthy off-cuts, have not been used for the business. All receipts have been given directly to the customer. I have charged for my time only in terms of what I am entering into the accounts package.

I’ve set up Wave, Pandle, and now Manager is downloaded and I’ve started to create my records. I also have a number of spreadsheets (monthly templates).