Reverse charged VAT transaction EU

Hi,

I have recently started using Manager for keeping accounts for my small business. And so far I am loving it.
I have read some topics about this on forum here, but haven’t yet figured out how to add this transaction.
I am not very good at accounting, so sorry if I am asking a silly question, but I would be really thankful if someone explained how to do this in Manager.

My business is located in Sweden (base currency SEK), and I purchased a product from a vendor in Ireland (in Euro). I provided my VAT registration number while purchasing the product. So the vendor didn’t charge me any VAT on the invoice, but I still have to pay Swedish VAT (called moms in Sweden, 25%) . So what I would like to do is to be able add this amount to the Tax payable, but no matter how I try to do, I can’t balance it out somehow.

Can someone with experience please explain how to add this kind of transaction so that the the VAT to be paid ends up correctly (i.e. in the liability).

Thanks in advance for any help.

If you read through the below topic it describes the process near the end but essentially to take up the moms in SEK you need to modify how you enter the Invoice where you are being charged the moms. If the Invoice has a moms charge of 250, then this was based on a purchase of 1000. So via any clearing account you would do the following two lines when entering the invoice:

Clearing account : Amount = 1000 : moms = 250
Clearing account : Amount = -1000 : moms = 0 (note minus sign)
This will put 250 in the tax liability account and nothing else as they cancel out

It still doesn’t work as it should. I received an invoice without VAT from the vendor. So first I entered the invoice as I received from vendor without VAT (see below).