Profit bigger than actual cash balance

Hi,
I have been using Manager for 6 months for my simple kindergarten business. The Manager has been very easy and for lay person like me without any knowledge of accounting.

Of late I started to use the reports for tax purposes. Upon doing that, I discovered the number of profit is bigger than my actual bank/cash balance. I audited through all my records, they are all correct. I wondered what went wrong. Can anyone enlighten me about the reports, profits and loss and what should I report to the revenue department by using Manager?

Thanks

This can occur for any number of reasons - are you using cash or accrual basis ?

Examples would be:

1. If you issued a sales invoice last week but don’t get paid until next week then the profit will be higher until the cash is received.

2. If you purchased an asset, this would reduce your cash balance but not effect your profit.

Thanks for the quick reply.

Yes, I have discovered the number in the accrual basis is bigger that cash. This reason, I have been using the cash.

On your examples, is that also means that when I make a capital drawings for my salary, it will not reduce my profit, am I right? If that is the case, should I pay myself a salary rather than a drawing?

Likewise to the asset, if I purchase a computer, rather than asset, I should put it as computer expenses?

Sorry, I am very confused about the accounting. Tried to learn, but never understand them. Bottom line, how should I report to the revenue department?

Thanks again for your help.

This is not a good reason to make such a choice. Many other considerations are involved.[quote=“amazinggrace, post:3, topic:8988”]
when I make a capital drawings for my salary, it will not reduce my profit, am I right? If that is the case, should I pay myself a salary rather than a drawing?
[/quote]