Liabilities remain after spending money on payslips

Hello all,
I’ve been using Manager for the last 4 months and thought I had a good handle on it, but now I’m beginning to question myself when I have to submit my quarterly report!

In short, after paying all my employees (through the ‘spend money’ option), I still have liabilities that remain. Specifically, these liabilities are my super contributions (which I have paid and were moved to expenses) and the PayG withholding tax.

How are items in the liabilities cleared from there? I know why the accounts payable is there (these are invoices in the system, but not due yet). But after I’ve paid my employees, shouldn’t superannuation and withholding tax be cleared and move into the expenses just like what happens in the employee clearing account? My superannuation did move over, but the same amount it still remains in liabilities.

I feel like I have set up witholding tax and super contribution incorrectly, but I can’t seem to find out what I’ve done wrong.

Sorry for what is likely a basic question, but I’ve spent the last two hours going through old posts and making sure that my payslip items are set up properly (screenshot below) and I’m not any closer to an answer.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. This has definitely been the hardest thing about starting a business!

Firstly, the Payslip creation creates the expense not the payment, the payment to employees clears the liability.

For Superannuation, the Payslip creation puts a debit to the expense account and a credit to the liability account. When you pay the Superannuation, it posts a debit to the liability account to clear the balance. The payment doesn’t get posted to the expense account.

For Withholding Tax, the payment is posted to the liability account, not an expense account.

The Payslip

The BS / P&L after Payslip

The BS / P&L after paying Employee / Super / Tax

Hi @Brucanna,