Inventory Profit Margin gives incorrect results for written stock options

I am a professional accountant and I am using the inventory functionality to account for investing activity (buying/selling stocks, options etc).

Background info: A call stock option is a contract where the seller of the option agrees to deliver stocks at a specified price at any time during a specified time period. If the market price on the last day of the option is above the strike price of the option, then the option is exercised and stocks are delivered to a purchaser at the specified price. If the market price is below the strike price of the option, then the option expires worthless. A seller of the option is also able to buy identical options from someone else in order to close out their obligation to deliver the stocks.

I am accounting for the following stock option transaction:

Option sold (written) on Dec 15, 2020 for $1,000.00
Same option is then bought on Jan 15, 2021 for $700.00

Note that the sale takes place BEFORE the purchase! When both of the above transactions are recorded in Manager, a profit margin report covering the period Jan 1, 2020 to Dec 31, 2020 will actually show the “Sales” of $1,000 and “Cost of Sales” of $700 and corresponding profit of $300.00. It is important to note that the Profit and Loss statement does not do that and only shows $1,000 profit, and therefore there is a discrepancy in the amount shown on the profit margin report v.s. the profit and loss statement of $700.00. In Canada, the correct treatment is to report $1,000.00 as profit, and then next year, when the option is purchased, to report a loss of $700.00 - just as shown on the profit and loss statement, but not as shown on the profit margin report.