Including withholding tax on sales invoice

I’m a bit new to accounting and manager.io in general but I was wondering how withholding tax gets counted when invoicing customers. I have billable hours that I’ve created an invoice for and have applied VAT to each of them but withholding tax gets deducted from the final amount and I need a way to account for that on the invoice to get the actual cash amount that the customer will be paying me.

How does one account for withholding tax on a sales invoice?

Is this legally required in your country to show withholding amount in your country? The reason why I’m asking is because in other countries I’m familiar with, only certain companies can withhold tax from their suppliers and rates vary. Therefore suppliers (you) don’t put withholding amount on invoice because you don’t know how much your customer will eventually withhold.

1 Like

Apologies for the delay in responding lubos, I’m not entirely sure if it’s legally required to show withholding amounts on the invoices themselves but I will look into it.

I have the same issue with withholding tax, but it goes like this:

1. Issue sales invoice of, say, $1000 to customer
  2. Accounts receivable is now $1000
  3. customer pays only $800 (which you don’t find out until you get the money). WH tax was $200.

Accounting treatment, in any case, means the invoice is ‘paid in full’.

• So you need to reduce AR by the full amount, $1000.
• Increase Bank Account by $800
• Increase Income/Sales by either $800 or $1000 depending on your policy
• Record $200 either as Asset on future tax gain, or more likely, just record as an expense

How would we do that in Manager?

The accounting entry for this transaction will be;

Dr Account Receivables 1,000
Cr Sales 1,000

Upon receipt of cash of $800,
Dr Cash 800
Cr Account Receivables 800

and

Dr Withholding Tax Receivables 200
Cr Account Receivables 200