Help with creating a 'disaster fund' within a beekeeping club

Hi all,

I’m a bit of a newbie (inexperienced non-accountant) and need some advice.

I’m the treasurer of a Beekeeping Club and we use Manager.io for all our accounting. We have a number of bank accounts (working and savings and PayPal) and a small cash account (money tin for people still unable to use the internet). We use cash accounting in all our reporting. It’s all working very well.

The club committee has recently resolved to ‘set aside’ 5% of our membership fees (in an ongoing accumulative basis) to go towards a fund that is to be used to support local beekeepers through natural disasters such as bushfires, floods etc. This ‘fund’ may build over a few years and then be partially, or completely, depleted in a short space of time. The severity, nature and timing of those disasters is not known in advance.

How do I reflect those ‘special reserved use funds’ in Manager? I had thought of going down to the local bank and creating another bank account (and periodically transferring 5% of membership dues from our other accounts) - but I’d rather not do that if I don’t have to. I’d rather just keep track and report the value of that ‘fund’ than having a seperate physical bank account for it.

I had thought of creating some sort of ‘Natural Disaster Liability Account’ and periodically adding liabilities to it - but - I don’t know how to do that and, I’m still not sure it’s the right way to go…

Suggestions/guidance would be very much appreciated.

Cheers
Stephen

Hi @StephenJ,

First, do not setup a liability account for this; this is an internal restriction on spending funds, so you truly can’t have a liability because the committee could always change their mind and direct the money to be used for the club’s benefit (it’s also not possible with the basic mechanics of accounting; you cannot credit cash and credit a liability at the same time :wink:).