GST and tax liabilities

Just wondering if there’s a way to create opening balance for tax liabilities account? Account is currently locked.

Also, My accountant is advising me to ensure software is set to cash basis not accural basis (especially in relation to inventory module). Is this a setting we can access?

For now, you will just need to make a journal entry to debit or credit Tax liabilities account. Perhaps in future it will be editable from Chart of Accounts screen too.

You don’t have to set Manager to be on cash or accrual-basis. Manager can generate reports using both calculation methods. When you are creating reports such as Profit & Loss Statement, there is an option to generate it on both cash basis or accrual basis.

Just going back to the accrual vs cash report for profit and loss and inventory topic. I’m new to using inventory and by no means an accountant either so please bear with me if my questions are non-sense.

I set up inventory items for various items I sell:

• 1000 black mugs
  • 1000 red mugs
  • 1000 white mugs
  • 10 black ink
  • 10 cyan ink

Now I’ve purchased these items prior to using manager and in my previous accounting software these items were just put as an expense (and therefore been claimed in previous GST BAS etc) so when setting up the items in Manager as inventory stock I set them up using opening balances. All has been great and I’ve been much better able to keep an eye on stock levels.

My problem is now when I do cash profit and loss statement at the end each quarter/year the cost of inventory item is being deducted in my expense list. I sort of understand the double entry accounting system. I know that if the items are being sold from inventory (assets) they need to be deducted from the assets… but why in cash accounting reports do they pop up as an expense? My concern here now is that my reports are double charging/claiming for the purchase of these items as they sell?