Setting aside funds for future bill

I’m no expert at all in finance, so please excuse any terminology errors or horrendous misuse of this wonderful package !

I run a not-for-profit Community Cinema. Every film we put on I incur a liability for a music license and I pay some months in arrears. I currently handle this by creating a cash account “PRS For Music”, and then creating an expenditure line each time with a separate account code “Licenses - PRS License” and with a tracking code indicating the show (e.g. “Cinderella”). The cash account obviously builds up a negative balance. But this approach means the cost shows up on the Income Expense report for the show (tracking code) thus allowing me to see profit/loss per show. All OK so far.

I’m now at the stage where I need to pay the bill. I can simply transfer the outstanding balance from our main bank account into the “PRS For Music” account - and all is OK. However, what I really want to do is to print out the line item report - much like a purchase order, giving the date of each transaction to present along with the cheque to show which films/dates I’m paying for.

Am I approaching this in the best way ? Is there a better way I can do this ?

Many thanks.

You are on the right path as far as structure but you aren’t using the features quite right.

Instead of the Cash Account - PRS for Music - you should be creating a Supplier, in the name of who you pay, Lets say “PRS For Music” then you would create a monthly Purchase Invoice where you would enter the Films screened for the month by adding an expenditure line and tracking code as you are doing currently by using edit.

So your expectations of “the cost shows up on the Income Expense report for the show (tracking code) thus allowing me to see profit/loss per show” won’t change, but the payment documentation which you are now seeking will automatically fall into place. To pay the Invoice you would Spend Money.

Create the Supplier