Ransomware Warning - HELP!

On opening Manager to enter a receipt my Acronis anti malware and backup system produced this scary message - 43 files affected by what seems to be Ransomware via Manager Desktop - I’m bricking it - Anyone had this previously. I don’t know what to do for the best - any advice welcome!

As long as you downloaded Manager from the official site, nothing came from Manager. Very likely, you have a false alarm from the anti-malware program. You will not be able to get any help on this forum. You should contact the maker of your anti-malware program.

If you downloaded the software from the official Manager website, then I would say that this is a false negative

1 Like

Thanks. I downloaded Manager from manager.io. I’ve been using manager for a couple of months. Love it. Easy to get to grips with. I moved my whole accounts system onto it. I have MacAffee Livesafe and Acronis True Image backup and Anti Malware. I’ve rebooted the PC and am running a full A/V deep scan. Hopefully you are right and it’s a false trigger.
My commercial life flashed before my eyes. That was so scary. I have a good backup system so I can completely revert to last night if need be. Phew.

Make sure to also store those backups on a separate drive/computer. You will want to be able to access them even if your current computer stops working or is stolen, and cannot be recovered.

A separate building/address is better. In case the building is burnt to the ground, you still want to be able to recover important data and documents.

Good thought. I used Acronis True image on an external 4Gb drive. Clones the PC completely and I could recover to a new PC in 20 minutes BUT the external drive is in the same room as the PC so I may need to rethink that. Lock it in the firesafe maybe…

1 Like