When I delete one of the options in the drop-down list of a Custom Field, I have observed that while the deleted option no longer appears in the list on new forms and cannot be selected, any existing entries that already had the deleted option selected retain the setting.
Is this behavior guaranteed? That is, it is guaranteed that if I delete an option from my Custom Field list, is it guaranteed that any existing items that use that option will retain it? Is it also guaranteed that if I later add the same option back into my Custom Field list, the option will not be re-instantiated but will instead be indistinguishable from entries that had the same option before it was deleted and added back?
For example, say I have a Custom Field for Billable Time called
Category. Say that Custom Field is of the
Drop-down list type. Say I have three options on the drop-down list:
Cucumber. Now say I create three Billable Time items, one with each
Category selected. Then say I go back into Settings and delete
Apple from the list. When I look at the Billable Time entry that previously had
Apple, it still has
Apple. If I leave it alone, it keeps
Apple, but once I change it to
Cucumber and save it, I cannot change it back. I also cannot select
Apple for a new Billable Time item unless I first add
Apple back into my drop-down list in Settings. If I do add it back in, it’s the same
Apple as before, and any new
Apples I create are indistinguishable from old
Apples that were already there. Can I rely on this?