DESKTOP EDITION CLOUD EDITION SERVER EDITION GUIDES FORUM

Does "Back up" in Desktop edition also backs up view or preferences or settings? Or it just backs up only records?


#1

Does “Back up” in Desktop edition also backs up view or preferences or settings by user? Or it just backs up only records?


#2

Vravani,

I’m guessing from your question and from your other posts that you want to re-install Manager. While I can’t promise anything, I did exactly that tonight (because I really don’t like the Chart of Accounts changes in today’s release and wanted to go back to a prior version for now).

I found that the .manager data files are not backward-compatible from version to version – at least not from v16.1.20 back to v16.1.12, after having created sub-accounts. But luckily I had a backup .manager file from just before I updated from 16.1.12, and I hadn’t made any data entries since then. So I uninstalled Manager from the Windows control panel, then deleted the Manager folders wherever I could find them under my User directory (look in AppData), then reinstalled, then used the Add Business > Import Backup function. Everything, including settings and preferences, seemed to come back for me except for the name of my business, which I just typed back in, and the top-menu privacy preference.

No guarantees, but it worked for me. Good luck!


#3

From my experience through the backing up of my office’s Server edition data and import backup to my home Mac edition and vice versa, so far I have not encountered any disruption of the records. The only 2 things I have to do are 1) Rename the business name, and 2) Reset the users from the server edition to point to the newly imported file.

I am currently working with my IT technicians on how to implement a connection to my server from my home. That would save a lot of hassle of backup and importing the file. Never know when will the problem strike.