Can't Open a Manager File directly

Hi,

I’ve just updated to the latest Manager version on Mac (Mac v10.15.3; Manager v20.2.27). I store my accounts as backup files in Google Drive (to enable access from multiple computers - docs are never open on 2 computers at once). I’ve been using Manager like this for close to 2 years without issue.

Now when I try to open a backup file, it says " The document “December 2019 Backup.manager” could not be opened. Manager cannot open files of this type. ".

I am able to import the backups and access the data in that way, but not open directly like I used to be able to. I’ve also tried importing it, and then creating a new backup to see if that backup will open, but it doesn’t either.

Anything I can do to resolve this?

Since you’ve started a new topic on this subject, I closed your previous one addressing the same issue to avoid splitting the discussion.

Can you provide a little more information on how you are trying to open the files in Google Drive? Are you bringing them onto your computer first, or trying to open them directly while in Google Drive. If the latter, I suspect Google’s storage regimen is viewing or handling them as something besides a .manager file while they are on Google Drive. The fact that you can import the backup successfully proves nothing is wrong with the file itself. This certainly would not be the first instance where Google interposes its own view of the universe on unsuspecting users.

I have Backup & Sync on my computers (windows & mac), the files are stored on my computers, so I usually just double click and it opens. I’ve tried putting a backup on my desktop and opening from there, same result. Also right clicked and selected open with Manager, same result.

This is more confusing. You first wrote that you stored the accounts on Google Drive. Now you write that you store them on your computers. What is stored where?